On Tuesday, Royal Blood announced that they’ll release their second album, How Did We Get So Dark?, on June 16. Today, they unveiled the first single, “Lights Out,” with a video that can be streamed above.

According to a press release, the duo of vocalist-bassist Mike Kerr and drummer Ben Thatcher globetrotted to make the record, writing in Nashville, Los Angeles and their hometown of Brighton, England, with recording sessions in a studio in Brussels with producer Jolyon Thomas and London, where they worked with Tom Dalgety, who helmed their debut. Kerr’s lyrics were informed from events in his life as a result of their quick rise to fame.

“Lights Out” builds upon the fuzz-bass-and-heavy-drums heard on Royal Blood by adding background vocals into the mix. Although it’s the lead single, it’s the second song to have been heard. They premiered “Hook, Line & Sinker” at last year’s Reading Festival.

The group are accepting pre-orders at their website, with How Did We Get So Dark? being available as a digital download, cassette, CD and vinyl. A signed Super Deluxe Edition includes a 7-inch single of two exclusive songs, “Cheap Affection” and “Half the Chance,” clear vinyl, a CD, a double-gatefold packaging and a 12-page booklet of artwork and lyrics. All pre-orders come with an immediate digital download of “Lights Out” and early access to tickets for the band’s upcoming concerts.

Royal Blood, ‘How Did We Get So Dark’ Track Listing

1. “How Did We Get So Dark?”
2. “Lights Out”
3. “I Only Lie When I Love You”
4. “She's Creeping”
5. “Look Like You Know”
6. “Where Are You Now?”
7. “Don't Tell”
8. “Hook, Line and Sinker”
9. “Hole in Your Hear
10. “Sleep”

2017's Most Anticipated Albums

More From Alt 95.7