We’ve got some great news for Primus fans! The masters of weirdness are releasing a new album, The Desaturating Seven, this year and Primus have shared the official audio of “The Seven.”

Primus fans went wild when the band debuted its first new original song in six years during a show in Colorado. Originally thought to be called “Seven,” Primus’ new track is actually called “The Seven” after the seven colors in a rainbow. Frontman Les Claypool got his inspiration from a trippy 1978 book The Rainbow Goblins, which Claypool’s wife introduced him to many years ago.

"I remember being incredibly impressed with the artwork and the storyline and the content and the message, and I thought, 'Wow, this would make a great piece of music,'" Claypool tells Rolling Stone. "As I'm getting older, I'm realizing I need to start knocking some of these things off my list. So we did the Willy Wonka soundtrack a couple years back, and this was a project I wanted to do."

Claypool adds, "I would look at the artwork and read the lyrics, and it's very difficult to sing about goblins and rainbows and not have it come off being a little cornball. So I was tiptoeing the line of not necessarily being literal, but referring to elements of the story and using it more as a metaphor, when I could."

Primus’ The Desaturating Seven will be the band’s first album in over two decades featuring the lineup of vocalist / bassist Les Claypool, guitarist Larry LaLonde and drummer Tim Alexander. The three-piece hasn’t recorded an album together since 1995’s Tales From the Punchbowl.

Check out “The Seven” above and get ready for The Desaturating Seven to be released worldwide on Sept. 29.

Primus, The Desaturating Seven Album Art


Primus, The Desaturating Seven Track Listing

1. "The Valley"
2. "The Seven"
3. "The Trek"
4. "The Scheme"
5. "The Dream"
6. "The Storm"
7. "The Ends?"

Where Does Primus' Les Claypool Rank Among the Top 66 Hard Rock + Metal Bassists of All Time?

10 Rock + Metal Bands That Play Weird Instruments

More From Alt 95.7