Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark will put out their 13th record, The Punishment of Luxury, on Sept. 1. It's the first release for the Liverpool-based synth-pop group since 2013's English Electric, and third since they regrouped in 2006 following a 10-year hiatus.

"On this album we have managed to make beautiful things out of noises and repetitive patterns," Andy McCluskey said in a press release. "The trouble is, we just can't help but write a catchy melody!"

The name of the record, and its title track, comes from an 1891 painting by Giovani Segantini. You can watch the video for the first single, "La Mitrailleuse," and pre-order the collection at their webstore. In addition to CD and black vinyl, they're offering it on yellow vinyl and cassette, and have several bundles, including a signed book and a deluxe edition that includes a DVD documentary about the making of the record, available. All pre-orders come with an immediate download of "La Mitrailleuse."

As of now, the bulk of OMD's touring will take place in Europe beginning in October. However, they have a pair of California dates lined up for July 28 (San Francisco) and July 29 (Los Angeles). For full information, check out their website.

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, 'The Punishment of Luxury' Track Listing

1. "The Punishment of Luxury"
2. "Isotype"
3. "Robot Man"
4. "What Have We Done"
5. "Precision & Decay"
6. "As We Open, So We Close"
7. "Art Eats Art"
8. "Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang"
9. "One More Time"
10. "La Mitrailleuse"
11. "Ghost Star"
12. "The View From Here"

Top 40 Albums From 1986

More From Alt 95.7