American Laundromat Records

Just a year after her politically fueled Pussycat, Juliana Hatfield's response to the world after President Donald Trump's election, she's embracing her lighter, happier side with an album of Olivia-Newton John covers. It's set to hit stores and websites on April 13 via American Laundromat Records.

Among its tracks, Juliana Hatfield Sings Olivia-Newton John includes covers of the Grease star's hits like "Physical (which you can watch above in a fan-shot video from fall 2017), "I Honestly Love You" and "Xanadu."

It shouldn't be any surprise to those who were at a recent Q Division holiday party, according to Vanyaland, where she performed several of the covers, or for those who have seen her live, where she often drops in Newton-John covers. Hatfield has long extolled the virtues of her idol's music. "She was one of my earlier favorites," Hatfield told the L.A. Times back in 1995. "I don't think she gets enough credit as a singer. She's pretty soulful, you know?"

"I have never not loved Olivia Newton-John," Hatfield says. "Her music has brought me so much pure joy throughout my life. I loved her when I was a child and I love her still. Her voice and her positive energy and her melodies have stood the test of time and they give me as much pleasure now as they ever did. Listening to her is an escape into a beautiful place. She has inspired me so much personally and I just wanted to give something back; to share some of these tremendous songs, reinterpreted, with love, by me."

The album will be available on cassette, CD and colored vinyl. A bonus 7-inch single, limited to 300 copies, will feature two additional tracks, and art by her recent I Don't Cares collaborator Paul Westerberg.

Visit American Laundromat Records to pre-order the album. A dollar from the sale of each record will go to the Olivia Newton-John Cancer Wellness and Research Centre in Heidelberg, Victoria, Australia.

Juliana Hatfield, 'Juliana Hatfield Sings Olivia Newton-John' Track Listing
“I Honestly Love You”
“Suspended in Time”
“Have You Never Been Mellow”
“A Little More Love”
“Totally Hot”
“Don’t Stop Believin'”
“Please Mr. Please”
“Hopelessly Devoted to You”
“Dancin’ ‘Round and ‘Round”
“Make a Move on Me”
“I Honestly Love You (Reprise)” [*CD, cassette and digital only]

Bonus 7-Inch Single Track List:
“Deeper Than the Night”
“Heart Attack”

More From Alt 95.7